April 13, 2024

Economic superpowers promise to stop North Korea’s nukes

G7 countries opt for controversial terminology in a joint statement that vows to work on North Korea denuclearization

Top officials from seven of the world’s most economically powerful countries vowed to work together on North Korea denuclearization in a joint statement issued on Tuesday.

The G7 countries — which include the United States, the U.K., Canada, France, Germany, Italy and Japan — specifically said they will work on the “complete, verifiable and irreversible denuclearization and dismantlement” of all North Korean nuclear and ballistic missiles. Among foreign policy experts, this ultimate goal is often referred to using the acronym CVID.

Become a member for less than $4 per week.

  • Unlimited access to all of NK News: reporting, investigations, analysis
  • The NK News Daily Update, an email newsletter to keep you in the loop
  • Searchable archive of all content, photo galleries, special columns
  • Contact NK News reporters with tips or requests for reporting
Get unlimited access to all NK News content, including original reporting, investigations, and analyses by our team of DPRK experts.
Subscribe now

All major cards accepted. No commitments – you can cancel any time.