February 29, 2024

Former North Korean diplomat clinches historic win in South Korean election

Thae Yong Ho is the first former DPRK official to win a parliamentary seat in the South

Thae Yong Ho, a former North Korean diplomat and defector allied with South Korea's conservative United Future Party (UFP), secured a seat in the Gangnam-A constituency parliamentary race on Wednesday, Thursday's results showed.

Thae, who won 60,324 votes amounting to 58.4% of the total count, becomes the first high-level North Korean escapee elected to South Korean parliamentary office representing a district and not by proportional representation.

Become a member for less then $4 per week.

  • Unlimited access to all of NK News: reporting, investigations, analysis
  • The NK News Daily Update, an email newsletter to keep you in the loop
  • Searchable archive of all content, photo galleries, special columns
  • Contact NK News reporters with tips or requests for reporting
Get unlimited access to all NK News content, including original reporting, investigations, and analyses by our team of DPRK experts.
Subscribe now

All major cards accepted. No commitments – you can cancel any time.