February 21, 2024

North Korea closes embassies in Senegal and Guinea as Africa exodus continues

Expert says DPRK appears to have concluded there are few benefits to maintaining historical presence in region

North Korea has closed its embassies in the West African countries of Senegal and Guinea, South Korea’s foreign ministry confirmed to NK News, making them the eighth and ninth DPRK missions to shutter since late October.  

The closure of the embassies in the capital cities of Dakar and Conakry follows the DPRK’s withdrawal from the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Bangladesh, Spain, Hong Kong, Uganda, Angola and Nepal. A Japanese media outlet previously reported that Pyongyang plans to close over a dozen embassies in total.