February 21, 2024

US, South Korea and Japan sanction North Koreans over spy satellite launch

Australia set to follow suit with own designations, which expert says seek to make up for lack of UNSC action

The U.S., South Korea and Japan have imposed new sanctions on North Korea over the country’s recent launch of a military reconnaissance satellite launch, with Australia set to follow with their own designations.

The new U.S. sanctions target eight North Korean nationals, as well as the cyber espionage group Kimsuky, according to a press release from the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC).