August 13, 2020

Recent visitors to North Korea no longer eligible for visa-free entry into U.S.
New rules set to affect foreign citizens who have visited DPRK since 2011

Citizens of foreign countries who have traveled to North Korea on or after March 1, 2011 will no longer be eligible for the U.S. Visa Waiver Program (VWP) under new rules made public this week.

In a change first reported by South Korea's Yonhap News on Tuesday, citizens of the 38 countries previously eligible for 90-day visa-free entry into to the U.S. will now need to obtain a visa if they have visited the DPRK in the last eight years.